The Birthday of ALL Birthdays

Dear Kalli,

Happy Birthday on the birthday of ALL birthdays! The birth of a new chapter. New learning. New experiences. Today is the day you leave for a most incredible adventure. Is it not Bilbo that, when asked where he was “off to,” shouted as he ran by the questioner, “I’m going on an adventure!” Not only is this a once-in-a-life opportunity, it’s like a once-in-ten-lifetimes adventure!!

In the spirit of new adventures, Elder Holland said, “‘The best is yet to be’ is an important matter to consider at the start of a new year—and every day ought to be the start of a new year and a new life. Such is the wonder of faith, repentance, and the miracle of the gospel of Jesus Christ.

The poet Robert Browning wrote:

Grow old along with me!
The best is yet to be,
The last of life, for which the first was made:
Our times are in his hand
Who saith, ‘A whole I planned,
Youth shows but half; trust God: see all, nor be afraid!’ 2

Some of you may wonder: Is there any future for me? What does a new year or a new semester, a new major or a new romance, a new job or a new home hold for me? Will I be safe? Will life be sound? Can I trust in the Lord and in the future? Or would it be better to look back, to go back, to stay in the past?

To all such of every generation, I call out, ‘Remember Lot’s wife.’ Faith is for the future. Faith builds on the past but never longs to stay there. Faith trusts that God has great things in store for each of us and that Christ truly is the ‘high priest of good things to come’ (Hebrews 9:11).

Keep your eyes on your dreams, however distant and far away. Live to see the miracles of repentance and forgiveness, of trust and divine love that will transform your life today, tomorrow, and forever.”

Full talk at: https://www.lds.org/ensign/2010/01/the-best-is-yet-to-be?lang=eng

As you are traveling, we will be sending you messages, pictures, recordings, updates, and love from the US. =)

We love you! Please share and post your experiences somewhere so we can be there with you.

We are praying for you!

Love,

Sarah H and US

One thought on “The Birthday of ALL Birthdays

  1. This is so amazing! I looooooove it! Your message to me really hits home. The birth of a new era…a new me. I’ll be posting! The family blog is traveling aweigh.com. I’ll keep you posted when I get my personal blog set up. Looooooove you! This is something I’ll look forward to!

    Like

Leave a comment